More Film Reviews.

Well, I knew better and I still drank coffee this evening. After the nervousness, jitters, and outright sick feeling wore off I found myself unable to sleep, and thus accomplished this:

Hanna is one that Daniel told me to watch, and told me several times. He was right, it was one of the most engrossing films I’ve watched in a while. I don’t generally watch action films, but this one falls under the category of intelligent action: by which I mean there is a very coherent and intriguing plot; the violence is not just for violence’s sake; and it’s just gorgeous. Watch it.

Beautiful Creatures was really pretty boring. It’s pretty much like Twilight with out the “Oh no they didn’t!” factor and minus all the Mormon business. That was the whole draw with the Twilight series for me: How much more ridiculous can this shit get?! (Palm to forehead — sparkly, abstinent vampires!) Really though this one was not a train wreck and nor was it good, so I wasted my time watching Beautiful Creatures. Sure I watched it for free, but don’t you waste your time or your money. Don’t watch it.

The Master was opulent in terms of how it was shot and that the characters were absolutely loathsome,  yet brilliantly played. Joaquin Phoenix gave one of the best performances I’ve seen in a long time, he was just fabulous. Both Freddy Quell (Phoenix) who is a psychologically unstable WWII vet with addiction problems, and Lancaster Dodd (Seymour Hoffman) the leader of a cult “The Cause” are characters that I felt ill at ease with. At moments Freddy Quell made me very uncomfortable as I have had to deal too much with people like him in the past, but despite the discomfort I was riveted. One of the phrases I remember Dodd uttering (I think several times in the film) goes more along the lines of, “We are humans, and not animals.” Quell of course is portrayed, and treated by other characters, as very animal-like (read uncivilized). However I felt like something shifts slightly in the last conversation the two have near the end of the film. It seemed to me that I could end the film being reminded that Dodd was really no less “animal”, or flawed than Quell. But no, neither character was redeemed or changed. It was not warm and fuzzy. I will be watching this a second time on a bigger screen and to get a second look at the acting/dialogue. Watch it.

This Girl is Badass was so much better than Premium Rush. Okay, most American viewers will have no idea what to do with the Thai humor, but I enjoyed it and hopefully some of you will. There is really not that much in the ways of cycling scenes…but this girl really is badass, and she kicks the shit out some gangsters using various bike parts. It was a fun movie. And really, Premium Rush was so lame. I’m told that they used some actual New York bicycle messengers, and that’s cool I guess. I just couldn’t get past how poorly done the acting and CG scenes were. And that laugh? Why both Joseph Gordon-Levitt and Michael Shannon’s character kept doing the same sounding, oddly placed, and out of synch laugh, I really do not know. The laugh got to me so much that it was the reason I turned the film off maybe 30 minutes in. Watch the Girl is Badass, do not watch Premium Rush…or I guess watch it on silence, for the cycling???

Leave a Reply

