Nico gets back to film.

Alright! I have actually viewed some films — and I found one I liked! Free Men (Les Hommes Libres) was one that I not only sat through, but truly enjoyed. It is set in German occupied Paris during WWII and follows Algerian immigrant Younes (Tahar Rahim) who at the beginning of the film is involved in the black market to get by. Caught between dealing with the French police and the Gestapo he avoids deportation by agreeing to spy on the Mosque, but through relationships he forms at the Mosque he transitions to freedom fighter. The film is loosely historical in that Younes is a composite character while Salim Halali (Mahmood Shalabi) and Si Kaddour (Ben Ghabrit) were actual people which the film tries to portray as accurately as possible. It is debatable whether Algerian Muslim/Jewish collaboration and resistance against Nazi-occupation and French colonialism is such as the film portrays (more information), nonetheless I recommend this film despite my tendency to not suggest historical films.

TV shows I recommend are Portlandia and Wilfred (yup, I’m on a comedy kick in terms of shows).

And then last, but not least, here is one from the summer that I’d forgotten to plug on this blog: The Sound of Noise. It was so funny, and I might not have watched it had it not been for one of my co-workers. Here’s what I’ll say…tone deaf, music-hating cop from a family of gifted musicians ends up on the hunt for a group of musical terrorists who have composed the ultimate “performance”. I seriously cannot remember the last time a film had me laughing as much as this one did, and I am going to purchase the soundtrack for certain. The musical terrorists are played by the actual musicians and I would also urge you to watch the special features on the DVD.

2 thoughts on “Nico gets back to film.

  1. Admiring the persistence you put into your site and in depth information you provide. It's good to come across a blog every once in a while that isn't the same outdated rehashed information. Wonderful read! I've bookmarked your site and I'm including your RSS feeds to my Google account.

Leave a Reply

